(Updated)

Posted on October 13, 2015

2


Since publishing this post I have spoken with Amar and agreed to remove the screenshot. This is what he had to say:

Everyone has every right to criticise Islam in the same way everyone has the same right to criticise other religions. In relation to Islam, it’s been criticised for 1400 years and debates related to the religion should be encouraged, as has happened since its inception. Scholars of Islam have never shied away from such debates for over 1400 years.

However, the problem arises when people use their hatred of Islam to commit hate crimes against Muslims and this is what I meant when I said we must outlaw Islamophobia in the UK. Malicious hatred against any religion should be condemned and that includes Islam.

What is unfortunate is that an innocent status celebrating news by the government was misconstrued and publicised as something malicious.

What I found most disappointing is that my personal status was used to suggest it was a view shared by MEND. My views are my own and I post on my wall with the intention that they reflect my own personal views and nobody else’s.

My Facebook page has a disclaimer that the views and opinions expressed on my personal Facebook page by me are my own only.

Posted in: Uncategorized